COUNCIL MEETING, INSTITUTE AND FACULTY OF ACTUARIES PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION MINUTES

Wednesday 29 March 2023, 09:00-11.20 GMT

Council members in attendance:

Matt Saker President and Chair for Items 1-2

Louise Pryor Immediate Past President, and Chair from item 3

Oliver Bettis Yan Liu Hitesh Shah Mark Williams Cherry Chan Hannah Long Kalpana Shah Cynthia Yuan Kudzai Chigiji Sarah Neil Sunil Sharma Masimba Zata

Charles Cowling Mukami Njeru Malcolm Slee
Dan Georgescu Craig Ritchie Nick Spencer
Dermot Grenham Matthew Pearlman Kartina Thomson
Jennifer Hartley Hilary Salt Peter Tompkins

Also in attendance:

James Harrigan Corporate Secretary

Ruby Fitzpatrick Assistant Corporate Secretary

PART 1 - GOVERNANCE

1. Introduction and Apologies

1.1 The President welcomed everyone to the meeting. Council Members Michelle Darracott, Patrick Kelliher, and Danny Quant sent their apologies (all three having submitted their vote in the President-elect election in advance).

2. Registration and Declaration of Interests

2.1 No declarations of interest were made.

3. Report from Nominations Committee

Kalpana Shah was asked to leave the meeting for the vote on her appointment as President for the 2023/24 sessional year (item 3.1(a) below). She rejoined after the vote.

- 3.1 Council noted the report from the Nominations Committee and unanimously approved the following:
 - a) To appoint Kalpana Shah as President for the 2023/24 sessional year from the IFoA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 27 June 2023.
 - b) To invite Matt Saker to become Immediate Past President for the 2023/24 sessional year from the IFoA's AGM on 27 June 2023.
- 3.2 Council noted that the following members of the General constituency will retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Cherry Chan
 - Michelle Darracott
 - Mukami Njeru
 - Louise Pryor
 - Danny Quant

- 3.3 Council noted that should Kartina Tahir Thomson and/or Peter Tompkins be unsuccessful in being elected to the position of President-elect, they would also retire from their General constituency seat on Council at the end of the current sessional year.
- 3.4 Council noted that Louise Pryor and (if not chosen as President-elect) Kartina Thomson were completing their second consecutive term on Council, and so would not be eligible to stand for immediate re-election.
- 3.5 Council noted that the following members of the Scottish constituency will retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Dermot Grenham
 - Sarah Neil
 - Craig Ritchie
- 3.6 Council noted that Dermot Grenham was completing his second consecutive term on Council, and so would not be eligible to stand for immediate re-election.

Paper 24 23 approved.

PART 2 - PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION

4. Casting Vote

4.1 Council agreed that in the event of a tie in the President-elect election, the President would have the casting vote.

5. President-elect 2023/24 Candidate Presentations

5.1 The Immediate Past President confirmed the order of the presentations, which it was confirmed had been selected randomly, and asked the candidates to leave the meeting when it was not their turn to present. In turn, each candidate spoke to Council in support of their candidacy and then responded to questions from Council members.

Papers 25 22 – 26 23 (the candidates' submissions) noted.

6. Vote for President-elect 2023/24

- 6.1 Council agreed that the Corporate Secretary would count the votes placed by Council members, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary would independently re-count the votes.
- 6.2 Council members were asked to submit their votes electronically to the Corporate Secretary and the Assistant Corporate Secretary.
- 6.3 Council members placed their votes, these were counted by the Corporate Secretary, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary then independently re-counted the votes.

7. Result of the Vote

7.1 The Immediate Past President announced that Kartina Tahir Thomson had been duly elected as President-elect for the 2023/24 sessional year. Council congratulated Kartina and thanked Nick Spencer and Peter Tompkins for standing.

End.