COUNCIL MEETING, INSTITUTE AND FACULTY OF ACTUARIES PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION MINUTES

Date: 4 March 2020 Time: 13:00-18.00 GMT Place: Staple Inn Hall, London

Council members in attendance:

John Taylor	President and Chair for Item 1 and 8
Jules Constantinou	President, and Chair for item 2-7

Laura Andrikopoulos Nico Aspinall Kelvin Chamunorwa Charles Cowling Mahidhara Davangere Marian Elliott Gilli Engel Lee Faulkner	* Prosper Matiashe Bruce Porteous	Alan Rae Andrew Rear Matt Saker Kalpana Shah Malcolm Slee *Paul Sweeting *Tan Suee Chieh Perry Thomas	Karti Mich Jame *Stev * Cyr
Lee Faulkner	Louise Pryor	Perry Thomas	

Kartina Thomson Michael Tripp James Tufts *Steven Yu * Cynthia Yuan

* By video conference

<u>Also in attendance</u>	
Stephen Mann	Chief Executive Officer
James Harrigan	Corporate Secretary
Ruby Fitzpatrick	Assistant Corporate Secretary

PART 1 - GOVERNANCE

1. Introduction and Apologies

- 1.1 The President welcomed everyone to the meeting, in particular Stephen Mann who was attending his first Council meeting since joining the IFoA as its Chief Executive Officer.
- 1.2 The President then led Council in paying tribute to Alan Watson, former Council member and active volunteer at the IFoA, who had sadly passed away on 29 February 2020. The President remembered Alan for his tireless commitment to the actuarial profession, his many years of dedicated and enthusiastic service to the IFoA, and for his many personal qualities as a colleague on the Council of the both the IFoA and, before the IFoA's creation, the Faculty of Actuaries in Scotland. Council members acknowledged the enormous contribution that Alan had made to the IFoA, and agreed that the IFoA should explore the possibility of formally recognising this by awarding a Finlaison Medal to Alan posthumously.

Action 1: Corporate Secretariat

- 1.3 Council observed a minute's silence in remembrance of Alan Watson.
- 1.4 Apologies were received from Council members Richard Galbraith, Perry Thomas and Laura Andrikopoulos for the President-elect election related parts of the meeting. It was noted that Richard, Perry and Laura had submitted their votes for the President-elect election to the Corporate Secretariat in advance of the meeting. President-elect candidates were reminded to provide their votes to the Secretariat in advance of the vote count.

2. Registration and Declaration of Interests

2.1 No declarations of interest were made.

3. Report from Nominations Committee

Tan Suee Chieh was asked to leave the meeting for the vote on his appointment as President for the 2020/21 sessional year (item 3.1(a) below). He rejoined after the vote.

- 3.1 Council noted the report from the Nominations Committee and unanimously approved the following:
 - a) To appoint Tan Suee Chieh as President for the 2020/21 sessional year from the IFoA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 15 June 2020.
 - b) To invite John Taylor to become Immediate Past President for the 2020/21 sessional year from the IFoA's AGM on 15 June 2020.
 - c) That the following members of the General constituency should retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Nico Aspinall
 - Lee Faulkner
 - Malcolm Slee
 - Paul Sweeting
 - Perry Thomas
 - Kartina Thomson
 - Michael Tripp
 - d) That the following members of the Scottish constituency should retire from Council at the end of the current sessional year:
 - Jules Constantinou
 - Bruce Porteous

Council also noted that, in addition to Jules and Bruce's retirement from Council, Dermot Grenham had voluntarily chosen to step down from Council at the coming AGM and stand for immediate re-election, further to a request to that effect from the Nominations Committee. It was noted that the Committee had made this request in order to be consistent with the principle of the intended future change to the Bye-laws (subject to approval from the IFoA membership and Privy Council) to ensure that Council members are, upon election, guaranteed to be able to serve a term of three years.

e) The Task and Person Specification to be used in the 2020 IFoA Council elections, subject to the Corporate Secretariat confirming the date of the induction programme for newly-elected Council members and correcting minor errors in the current document.

The Nominations Committee was asked to consider adding a 'fit and proper person' requirement to future Council member task and person specifications.

Action 2: Nominations Committee

Paper 01 20 approved.

PART 2 – PRESIDENT-ELECT ELECTION

4. Casting Vote

4.1 Council agreed that in the event of a tie at any stage of the President-elect election, the President would have the casting vote.

5. President-elect 2020/21 Candidate Presentations

5.1 The Immediate Past President confirmed the order of the presentations which had been selected randomly and, accordingly, asked the candidates to leave the meeting room when it was not their turn to present. In turn, each candidate spoke to Council in support of their candidacy and then responded to questions from Council members.

Papers 02 20 – 06 20 (the candidates' submissions) noted.

6. Vote for President-elect 2020/21

- 6.1 Council agreed that the Corporate Secretary would count the votes placed by Council members, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary would independently re-count the votes.
- 6.2 Council members present in person were handed voting papers and those joining using the virtual conference facility were asked to submit their votes electronically to the Corporate Secretary and the Assistant Corporate Secretary.
- 6.3 Council members placed their votes, and then the Assistant Corporate Secretary left the room to count the votes.

7. Result of the Vote

7.1 The Immediate Past President announced that Louise Pryor had been duly elected as President-elect for the 2020/21 sessional year. Council congratulated Louise and thanked the other candidates for standing.

End.